The Spasskaya (meaning Saviour's) Tower was erected in 1491 by architect Pietro Antonio Solari. Its construction marked the beginning of the development of the eastern line of the Kremlin fortifications. The tower is located on the site of Frolovskaya Strelnitsa of 1367-1368. Its gates, facing Red Square, have always been the main ceremonial entrance to the Kremlin. They were particularly revered by the people and considered holy. The gates served for departures of the tsar, solemn passages of the patriarch, meeting foreign ambassadors.

The tower has a tetrahedral form and a powerful diverted fighting platform adjoined closely to it and used for protecting the gate entrance. It was closed by a vertical sliding iron grille - herse. If the enemy penetrated the fighting platform, the herses were lowered, and the enemy got locked in a kind of stone trap. The enemy was shot at from the upper gallery of the fighting platform. Even today, the façade of the tower preserves apertures through which chains were passed to raise and lower an especial wooden flooring of the bridge, and grooves in the gate passage through which the metal grille went.  Elevating bridges were lowered from the gate of the fighting platform.

Above the gate of the diverted fighting platform and the gates of the Spasskaya Tower from the Kremlin territory, there are inscriptions in Russian and Latin on white-stone boards telling about the time of its construction: "In the summer of 6999 (1491 year - ed.), in July, this tower was made by the grace of God by order of Ivan Vasilievich, Sovereign and Autocrat of all Russia and Grand Prince of Vladimir and Moscow and Novgorod and Pskov and Tver and Ugra and Vyatka and Perm and Bulgaria and others in 30 years of his state, and was made by Peter Antony Solario from Mediolan' (Milan - ed.)".

Originally the tower was called Frolovskaya because of the Church of Sts Frol and Laurus situated close to it in the Kremlin. In 1516 a wooden bridge was thrown across the moat from the tower. At the end of the 16th century, the building had a hipped roof and a double-headed eagle on top. By the decree of Tsar Alexey Mikhailovich dated 16 April 1658, the tower was called Spasskaya. The new name was connected with the icon of Christ of Edessa placed over the gates from the side of Red Square. The icon itself has not survived, but the place where it hung is clearly seen.

In 1624-1625 the Russian architect Bazhen Ogurtsov and the English master Christopher Galloway erected a multi-tiered top above the tower, finishing with a stone marquee. It was the first hipped roof among the Kremlin towers. The lower part of the building was decorated with a white-stone chiselled arched belt, turrets, and pyramids. There appeared fantastic figures whose nudity was bashfully covered with specially sewn clothes by order of Tsar Mikhail Fyodorovich. The tower was rightly considered the most beautiful and harmonious tower of the Kremlin. Unfortunately, when it was under reconstruction, the white-stone reliefs by V. Yermolin, made for the Frolovskye Gate in the time of Dmitry Donskoy, were removed from its façades. They depicted the patrons of the Moscow princes - St George the Victorious and St Dmitry Solunsky. (A fragment of the relief of St George is stored today in the Tretyakov Gallery).

In the 17th century, a stone arch bridge was thrown across the moat to the Spasskaya Tower gates, on which a lively trade took place. In the 1650s, the hipped roof of the main tower of the Kremlin was topped with the coat of arms of the Russian state — a two-headed eagle. Later, similar coats of arms were placed on the highest towers - Nikolskaya, Trotskaya and Borovitskaya.

The first clock on the Spasskaya Tower was installed according to the design of Christopher Galloway. In 1707 the Dutch chimes with music replaced them. In 1763 the clock was replaced again, and in 1851 those chimes underwent total repair by brothers N.N. and I.N. Butenop. In 1920, during the reconstruction of the Spasskaya Tower, the musician M.M. Cheremnykh and the mechanic N.V. Behrens, having repaired the clock, picked out a tune of the International on the chimes.

The star on the Spasskaya Tower was first installed in 1935. A new one with a wingspan of 3.75 metres was placed there in 1937. A lamp with a power of 5000 watts burns 24 hours a day inside the star. The star rotates in the wind like a weather vane.

The Spasskaya Tower has ten floors.

Its height until the star is 67.3 metres, with the star - 71 meters.

Spasskaya Tower. WatercolourSpasskaya Tower. Main ViewSpasskaya Tower. PerspectiveSpasskaya Tower. Perspective

11


Спасская (Фроловская) башняВозведена в 1491 году архитектором Пьетро Антонио Солари. Ее строительство положило начало сооружению восточной линии укреплений Кремля. Башня расположена на месте Фроловской стрельницы 1367-1368 годов. Ее ворота, выходящие на Красную площадь, всегда были главным парадным въездом в Кремль. Они особенно почитались в народе и считались святыми. Ворота служили для выездов царя, торжественных выходов патриарха, встреч иностранных послов.

Башня имеет четырехгранную форму и вплотную примыкающую к ней мощную отводную стрельницу, служившую для защиты проездных ворот. Закрывались они специальными опускными железными решетками - герсами. Если неприятель проникал внутрь стрельницы, герсы опускались, и враг оказывался запертым в своеобразном каменном мешке. Его обстреливали с верхней галереи стрельницы. На фасаде башни и сейчас можно разглядеть отверстия, через которые пропускались цепи для подъема и спуска специального деревянного настила моста, а в проходе ворот - пазы, по которым ходила металлическая решетка. Из ворот стрельницы опускались подъемные мосты.

Над воротами отводной стрельницы и воротами Спасской башни со стороны Кремля на белокаменных досках вырезаны надписи на русском и латинском языках, рассказывающие о времени ее постройки: “В лето 6999 (1491год - ред.) июля божиею милостию сделана бысть сия стрельница повелением Иоанна Васильевича государя и самодержца всея Руси и великого князя Володимирского и Московского и Новгородского и Псковского и Тверского и Югорского и Вятского и Пермского и Болгарского и иных в 30 лето государства его, а делал Петр Антоний Солярио от града Медиолана (Милана - ред.)”.

Первоначально башня называлась Фроловской, в связи с тем, что неподалеку в Кремле располагалась церковь Фрола и Лавра. В 1516 году от башни через ров перекинули деревянный мост. Уже в конце XVI века над башней существовал шатровый верх, увенчанный двуглавым орлом. Указом от 16 апреля 1658 года царь Алексей Михайлович повелел именовать ее Спасской. Новое название было связано с иконой Спаса Нерукотворного, помещенной над воротами со стороны Красной площади. Сама икона не сохранилась, но место, где она висела, хорошо видно.

Спасская башня

Спасская башняСпасская башняСпасская башняСпасская башня

В 1624-1625 годах русский архитектор Бажен Огурцов и английский мастер Христофор Галовей возвели над башней многоярусный верх, заканчивающийся каменным шатром. Это было первое шатровое завершение кремлевских башен. Нижняя часть здания была украшена белокаменным кружевным арочным поясом, башенками, пирамидками. Появились фантастические фигурки (“болваны”), наготу которых по приказу царя Михаила Федоровича стыдливо прикрыли специально сшитыми одеждами. Башня по праву стала считаться самой красивой и самой стройной башней Кремля. К сожалению, при надстройке башни с ее фасадов были сняты белокаменные рельефы В.Д.Ермолина, выполненные еще для Фроловских ворот времени Дмитрия Донского. На них были изображены покровители московских князей - святые Георгий Победоносец и Дмитрий Солунский. (Фрагмент рельефа святого Георгия хранится сегодня в Третьяковской галерее).

В XVII веке к Спасским воротам через ров был перекинут каменный мост на арках, на котором шла оживленная торговля. В 50-х годах XVII века на вершине шатра главной башни Кремля водрузили герб Российского государства - двуглавый орел. Позже подобные гербы установили на самых высоких башнях - Никольской, Троицкой и Боровицкой.

Первые часы на Спасской башне были установлены по проекту Христофора Галовея. В 1707 году их сменили голландские куранты с музыкой. В 1763 году часы вновь заменяются, а в 1851 году эти последние куранты XVIII века капитально ремонтируются братьями Н. и П. Бутеноп. В 1920 году при ремонте Спасской башни музыкант М.М.Черемных и слесарь Н.В.Беренс, починив часы, подобрали на курантах мелодию Интернационала.

Звезда на Спасской башне впервые была установлена в 1935 году. В 1937 году ее сменила новая, имеющая размах крыльев 3,75 м. Внутри звезды круглосуточно горит лампа мощностью 5000 вт. Звезда вращается от ветра, как флюгер.

Спасская башня имеет 10 этажей.

Высота башни - до звезды - 67,3 м. , со звездой - 71 м.

 


top